BGB News

News about Ocracoke!

“The release of [this] ‘enhanced edition’ … allows for the addition of numerous photos and the enlargement of others in a classic … McAllister’s history captures the atmosphere and evolution of the island in such a way that even non-residents and those relatively unfamiliar with Ocracoke will find it a lively, compelling read.” (

NEW! Enhanced “OCRACOKE” with larger pages & more pictures

Just $22.95 with FREE SHIPPING! Order here

 *     *     *

NOW BACK IN PRINT! Beach Glass Book is pleased to announce the republishing of  an Outer Banks Classic, PORTSMOUTH: THE WAY IT WAS . The award-winning 1996 book, written by the late ELLEN FULCHER CLOUD, is the true story of  “the Ghost Village of the Outer Banks.” Portsmouth is being brought back in a special enhanced edition, with larger pages, more photographs, and a new foreword by RAY McALLISTER.

Shops that are Selling Portsmouth
Portsmouth in the News

How PORTSMOUTH came to be. Read Ray McAllister’s foreword to the book.

Shops selling PORTSMOUTH after publication:

  • Books to be Red, Ocracoke
  • Buxton Village Books, Buxton
  • Island Bookstore (3): Duck, Corolla, Kitty Hawk
  • Ocracoke Preservation Society Museum, Ocracoke
  • Core Sound Waterfowl Museum and Heritage Center, Harkers Island
  • Scuttlebutt Nautical Books and Bounty, Beaufort

NOTE: New shops have been added. Check here.

* Online sellers of PORTSMOUTH (remember, we encourage readers to buy at local OBX and NC shops, listed above).

  1. with FREE shipping.
  2. Amazon.
  3. Barnes and Noble: with FREE shipping if buy a total of $25 of eligible items.

 *     *     *

FALL 2016: The enhanced edition of Ray McAllister’s Ocracoke: The Pearl of the Outer Banks — with larger pages and photographs, 32 additional photographs, and signed by the author — is now available.

The new edition is available in hardcover format for $22.95.

Ocracoke, originally published in 2013, is the fourth book in the author’s North Carolina coastal series. Ocracoke offers a look at the history, people and continuing allure of the remote, white-sanded island that draws tens of thousands of visitors each year. New illustrations focus on Blackbeard, the Ocracoke lighthouse and 20th century island life, bringing to more than 150 the book’s black-and-white illustrations. They also enhance the book’s positions as one of the Outer Banks’ best-selling memento books and gift books.

Like the author’s other coastal books, Ocracoke is a winner of the North Carolina Association of Historian’s Willie Parker Peace History Book Award. It is available at most Outer Banks booksellers, selected North Carolina and Virginia stores, and online sellers, including the author’s web site,


Leave a Comment

Filed under Uncategorized